Mayor & City Council

The City of Redwood Falls is a home-rule charter city governed by a mayor and five council members; all of whom are elected to staggered, four-year terms. Three council members are elected from each of three wards, or election districts, and two council members are elected at-large. All regular city elections are held in conjunction with the state and federal general elections in even-numbered years. The City Council holds regular meetings the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 5:00 p.m., at the Municipal Office Building, 333 South Washington Street in Redwood Falls.

Redwood Falls City Council 2019


Tom Quackenbush, Mayor
On January 2nd, 2019, Tom was sworn in as Mayor.  Tom is the Plant Manager for Daktronics in Redwood Falls.

Denise Kerkhoff, First Ward Council Member
Appointed February 5th, 2019. Denise is employed by Redwood County as the Crime Victim Services Coordinator in the the Redwood County Attorney’s office.

Matt Smith, Second Ward Council Member
Appointed January 5th, 2016 and elected in 2016.  Matt is a retired Minnesota State Trooper. Matt currently serves as the City Council President.

Larry Arentson, Third Ward Council Member
 Appointed January 7th, 2017 and elected in 2018.  Larry works as the Safety & Compliance Manager at Farmward Cooperative.

John T. Buckley, At-large Council Member
First elected to the city council in 2000 and re-elected in 2004, 2008, 2012 and 2016. John is co-owner of Redwood Falls Nursery.

Jim Sandgren, At-large Council Member
Elected in November 2006 and re-elected in November 2010, 2014 and 2018. Jim is an employee of Redwood County where he serves as Assistant Emergency Management Director.

Ward Map