The City of Redwood Falls is a home-rule charter city governed by a mayor and five council members; all of whom are elected to staggered, four-year terms. Three council members are elected from each of three wards, or election districts, and two council members are elected at-large. All regular city elections are held in conjunction with the state and federal general elections in even-numbered years.

The City Council holds regular meetings the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 5:00 p.m., at the Municipal Office Building, 333 South Washington Street in Redwood Falls. A recording of the most recent City Council meeting will be played on the local public access channel (Mediacom channel 8 and Nuvera channel 1 or 903) every Thursday at 6:30 p.m. and Friday at 10:00 a.m.

Redwood Falls City Council 2019

City Council


Tom Quackenbush

(Term ends Dec 2022)
On January 2nd, 2019, Tom was sworn in as Mayor.  Tom is the Plant Manager for Daktronics in Redwood Falls.

Denise Kerkhoff
First Ward Council Member

(Term ends Dec 2024)
Appointed February 5th, 2019 and elected in 2020. Denise is employed by Redwood County as the Crime Victim Services Coordinator in the Redwood County Attorney’s office.

Matt Smith
Second Ward Council Member

(Term ends Dec 2024)
Appointed January 5th, 2016, elected in 2016, and re-elected in 2020.  Matt is an Edward Jones Financial Advisor, and a retired Minnesota State Trooper.

Larry Arentson
Third Ward Council Member

(Term ends Dec 2022)
Appointed January 7th, 2017 and elected in 2018.  Larry works as the Safety & Compliance Manager at Farmward Cooperative. Larry currently serves as the City Council President.

John T. Buckley
At-large Council Member

(Term ends Dec 2024)
First elected to the city council in 2000 and re-elected in 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. John is co-owner of Redwood Falls Nursery.

Jim Sandgren
At-large Council Member

(Term ends Dec 2022)
Elected in November 2006 and re-elected in November 2010, 2014, and 2018. Jim is an employee of Redwood County where he serves as Emergency Management Director.

Scroll to Top